University of Chichester Academy Trust

Latest news

Half Term Family Learning Workshop

Half Term Family Learning Workshop

Portsmouth Libraries are holding Family Learning workshops on Tuesday 23rd October. They are as follows:

Central Library                  10-12

Portsea Library                 10-12

Carnegie Library               10-12

Cosham Library                1.30-3.30

North End Library             1.30-3.30

Southsea Library              1.30-3.30

These will be fun and free activities for families to do together during half term, staff from The Learning Place will be taking the sessions.

Please contact the library directly to book onto the workshop.

Book Fair

Book Fair

Our school Book Fair will run from Wednesday 31st October to Tuesday 6th November. The books will be available to look at every day from 3pm on the  playground. This year Travelling Books have made it much easier to make a purchase. They include good old fashioned cash, Phone payments and Book Fair gift vouchers.

To pay for your books by phone – it’s safe, simple and quick. Simply ask your Book Fair Organiser for a phone payment slip. Call the number and follow the instructions. Write down your transaction code and paid amount. Return the completed slip to your book fair organiser and take your purchase.

Book Fair Gift Vouchers

They’re the simple, secure way to ensure children get the books they want when the Book Fair arrives and are perfect if parents can’t make it to the Book Fair or you have a cashless school. Even better, you’ll save 20% when you buy online meaning a £12 voucher costs only £10, a £6 voucher costs only £5 and so on. Your school will earn Rewards for free books on the full value of the voucher, rather than the discount price. Once a purchase has been made, customers will receive the voucher in an email which can be printed and given to the child – much safer to carry than cash! Vouchers can be purchased up until midnight on the day of collection of the Book Fair.

Competition time

We will be running a competition in each year group with a prize of £10 book vouchers. Please keep your eyes peeled for more information on this.

Watch this video to see how it works.

National Poetry Day

National Poetry Day

Thursday 4th October was National Poetry Day.

To celebrate the day children in Key Stage One read different types of poems.

The children also wrote their own poems for a poetry competition. The children were asked to write an acrostic poem, a riddle or a senses poem.

Year 1 children wrote poems about Elmer linked to their English work. Year 2 wrote Autumn themed poems using the school grounds as their inspiration.

Watch this space to see if we are competition winner!

Starting School September 2019

Starting School September 2019

If you have a child who is due to start school in September 2019 the application process starts on Monday 5th November 2018 and closes on Tuesday 15th January 2019. Applications are made through Portsmouth City Council Admissions Service and not directly to the school. Information on the application process can be found on the Portsmouth City Council website.

We will be holding school tours on the dates and times below. Unfortunately we are unable to hold tours at any other times. Please call the school office to book a space 023 9283 2642

Thursday 8th November 5pm  SORRY FULL
Thursday 15th November 2pm(FULLY BOOKED) and 5pm
Tuesday 20th November 10am (FULLY BOOKED) and 5pm
Tuesday 27th November 10am, 2pm and 5pm
Tuesday 4th December 5pm
Thursday 13th December 10am

 

Key Dates and Events 2018-19

Key Dates and Events 2018-19

Monday 22nd-Friday 26th October – School Closed for Half Term

Monday 29th October – School Closed for INSET Day

31st October – 6th November – Travelling Book Fair

Thursday 1st November – Individual School Photographs

Thursday 15th November – School Nurse Clinic

Monday 19th November – Screening of Year R children by School Nursing Service

Tuesday 20th November – Flu Vaccinations (Whole School)

Wednesday 21st November – Screening of Year R children by School Nursing Service

Thursday 13th December – School Nurse Clinic

Monday 24th December-Friday 4th January – School Closed for Christmas Holiday

Monday 7th January – School Closed for INSET Day

Friday 15th February – School Closed for INSET Day

Monday 18th-Friday 22nd February – School Closed for Half Term

Wednesday 6th March – Year 1 Trip to Longdown Activity Farm

Thursday 25th April – Year 2 Trip to Titanic Museum

Monday 8th April-Monday 22nd April – School Closed for Easter Holiday

Monday 6th May – School Closed for Bank Holiday

Monday 27th May-Friday 31st May – School Closed for Half Term

Monday 3rd June – School Closed for INSET Day

Monday 22nd-Tuesday 23rd July – School Closed for INSET Days

Wednesday 24th July-Monday 2nd September – School Closed for Summer Holiday

Race for life

Race for life

Race for Life at Langstone 2018

We raised £3190 for our chosen charity this term – Cancer Research UK. We held our Race for Life fundraising event at school,  on Thursday 28th June. We dedicated our Race for Life to Sue Swanton, a former lunchtime supervisor and volunteer, who recently lost her fight against cancer.

We were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day for our event. The field was set up with the gazebos to keep the children cool, a water station and all the bunting the children had made was put up to make the event really special.

We were joined by Gemma, the Community Champion from Tesco at Fratton Park, she brought fruit for the children to enjoy as they finished their running and was giving high-fives as the children ran past her.

Everyone really enjoyed the day and we are really proud to have raised so much money for this worthy cause.

Congratulations and a very big ‘Well Done!’ to everyone who took part.

Proud to be part of the University of Chichester Academy Trust